Youngsters seeks to prove boss

31/10/2014 02:32

James Wilson says he is delighted that manager Louis van Gaal is giving him his first-team chance


Manchester United youngster James Wilson wants to prove his worth to manager Louis Van Gaal.


The striker is highly thought of throughout the club ranks from the fans to youth team coaches.


The 18-year-old said: "It’s an important time for me.Obviously with those two going - Chicha (Javier Hernandez) on loan and Danny (Welbeck) getting a move to Arsenal - it’s given me a great opportunity."


Since Hernandez and Welbeck departed in the summer it has opened up a new lease for Wilson to become fourth choice striker.


He also added "It’s going to be really important for me to get the minutes on the pitch."


The player was first scouted by Manchester United at the age of seven and then made his debut as a 14 year old for the Under 18s.


Wilson added "Obviously with the competition in training and even in the games as well, if I can just get a few minutes here and there, then hopefully I can get my chance further down the line.”


James Wilson has a big future at Old Trafford and will be a success in years to come.


He also said “It’s very, very important because if I’m not getting the minutes on the pitch for the first team, then I’ll be happy to play for the Under-21s and get my match fitness in."


The Staffordshire man is a huge talent and learning off of Radamel Falcao, Wayne Rooney and Robin Van Persie in training every week will develop him into a clinical United striker.


Van Gaal I believe has not let him go out on loan because of this as he wants the number 49 to progress in his performance under the guidance of World Class players and staff.