Midfielder faces lengthy sideline

17/11/2014 23:17

Embedded image permalink

Manchester United midfielder Daley Blind looks to be facing a lengthy time out on the sidelines after injuring his knee ligaments.

 

The injury was sustained in the Netherlands 6-0 win over Latvia where Blind limped off after 20 minutes.

 

Netherlands head coach Gus Hiddink said "I'm rather negative,I think it's a medial ligament that is twisted. It might be a rupture."

 

We all will be awaiting the results of an MRI scan on today with it already being suspected to be 4-6 weeks out for the former Ajax man.

 

Worryingly it is more than certain that the Dutch footballer of the year will not play any part against Arsenal on Saturday.

 

Blind later posted after the match on his Instagram account: "I'm proud of my 25 games for the Dutch national team, but I'm so gutted with my injury... I'll stay positive (and) will come back stronger! Nevertheless a great win, 6-0!"

 

The unfortunate amount of injured in which we have recorded under Louis Van Gaal is astonishing with an average of one every three days.

 

I do hope Blind can recover quickly as we anxiously wait on results from his scan but if worse comes to worse it would be a huge blow.