Goalkeeper signs for United

28/07/2015 11:50

Manchester United have completed the signing of free agent Sergio Romero on a three year contract.


The goalkeeper is coming in as Victor Valdes' replacement as it is more than likely that his public bust up with Louis Van Gaal leaves him on his way to another club.


Romero who is Argentinas number one goalkeeper is 28 years old and was out on loan at Monaco last season however he only featured three times.


Speaking about the transfer the Keeper said "I am absolutely delighted to join Manchester United. To play for the biggest club in the world is a dream come true for me. Louis van Gaal is a fantastic manager and I cannot wait to get started on this new and exciting challenge in my career.”


Romero has made 62 appearances from Argentina over the years. With his country he finished second in last years World Cup and won the Olympic Gold medal for football at Beijing 2008.


Louis van Gaal said: “Sergio is a very talented goalkeeper. He was a young keeper during my time at AZ Alkmaar and I am delighted he is joining Manchester United. He had a fantastic World Cup last summer in Brazil, although that is something I have put to the back of my mind! He will be a great addition to the team and I am looking forward to working with him once again.”


Romero is a good signing and hopefully he will feature this season as he has already joined up with team mates for training early today.