German Legend completes move

17/07/2015 22:46

Bastian Schweinsteiger today has completed his move from Bayern Munich to Manchester United.

 

The fee agreed for the player is believed to be £14.4m as the German legend puts pen to paper on a three year contract at Old Trafford.

 

The move was completed last week so that the midfielder could be announced in the U.S. Pre-season tour squad.

 

Schweinsteiger was seen at Manchester Airport with the rest of the squad last week as he boarded the flight and posed for pictures with the rest of the Manchester United squad.

 

The 30 year old said said: "I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at Bayern Munich, it has been an incredible journey and I didn’t take the decision to leave lightly."

 

The World Cup winner leaves Bayern Munich after 17 years with the club as he feels that he needs a new challenge and has always dreamt of playing in the English league.

 

Schweinsteiger also added "Manchester United is the only club that I would have left Munich for. I feel ready for this new and exciting challenge in what I regard as the most competitive league in the world and I am looking forward to working with Louis van Gaal again."

 

Louis Van Gaal has worked with Schweinsteiger before at Bayern Munich and could have been the key factor for the move taking place.

 

Louis Van Gaal speaking about the deal said "Bastian is, of course, no stranger to me. I worked with him during my time at Bayern Munich and I am truly delighted he is joining Manchester United. His record speaks for itself; he has won every honour at club level and was a major part of the successful Germany World Cup-winning team last summer."

 

The signing of the summer so far as Schweinsteiger could be an incredible player for Manchester United in years to come!

 

Welcome Bastian Schweinsteiger!!