Cesc Fabregas- FC Barcelona

08/08/2013 16:17

The summer of 2013 saw one of the most unexcepted transfer saga's when Barcelona midfielder Cesc Fabregas was targeted by Manchester United with new manager David Moyes in charge. Moyes had said that he wanted to buy a centre midfielder and very publicly targeted the 26 year old.

 

Manchester United took a first swing at Barcelona as the bid around £26m but the Catalan giants stated that Fabregas was not for sale but that did not stop United from carrying on their pursuit. The bid was rejected as Manchester United looked very persistent and didn't give up as a second bid of £30m + add ons was rejected. 

 

The manager,player and even sporting director of Barcelona and also Arsene Wenger remained confident that Fabregas would stay a Barcelona player for another year at least. The speculation continued as rumours heard that Man United had given up, Man United were still keen and that United were preparing a third bid but...

 

On the 8th August 2013 Cesc Fabregas ended all speculation but coming out at a press conference in Kuala Lumpur and saying "I am always relaxed and I have never thought about leaving Barca. I never had any doubts about my future here. It cost me a lot to return to Barca and all I want now is to be successful here. I did not have to clear up anything because in my head I was only going to stay at Barca. I have not spoken with any other club for two summers now and neither is it true that I have asked for a new contract."

 

Fabregas now looks most certain to stay at Barcelona as United go searching for a big signing as the Cesc Fabregas saga looks to be over.